Every driver in New York State is required by law to purchase and maintain a certain level of auto liability insurance coverage, otherwise the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can and will suspend your driver’s license and vehicle registration. The minimum auto liability insurance required in New York is:
- $10,000 of coverage for property damage in an accident.
- $25,000 of coverage for bodily harm or injury / $50,000 of coverage for the death of one person in an accident.
- $50,000 of coverage for bodily harm or injury / $100,000 for the death of two or more people in an accident.
Along with the minimum required coverage, your insurance needs to:
- Remain active for as long as your vehicle’s registration is valid, whether or not you actively use the vehicle.
- Be issued by a New York State Department of Financial Services-licensed company, and also certified by the New York State DMV. Under no circumstances will out-of-state insurance be accepted as a substitute.
- Be issued and remain under the name of the person whose name is listed on the vehicle’s registration. Up to two people can be listed on the vehicle’s registration.
Auto liability insurance is different from Personal Injury Protection (PIP), and is designed to protect you if someone else files a claim alleging that you were at fault or negligent and caused the crash. However, if you were seriously injured in an auto accident, the minimum auto liability insurance may not be enough to cover all of your medical bills, damaged property, lost wages, or any other bills that may build up over time. If the person who caused the accident’s liability insurance can’t cover all of the costs, you may need to file an injury claim to secure the compensation you deserve.
You only have a limited amount of time to file your claim, so it’s vital to seek qualified legal representation as soon as possible. At The Perecman Firm, P.L.L.C., our New York City auto accident lawyers can help you navigate the legal hurdles that may come up, and will fight to ensure that you receive the compensation you need. Give us a call at (212) 577-9325, or fill out our online form for a free case evaluation.